How To: Gluten Free Tonkatsu

Header - How To

For a while after I was diagnosed, I gave up making tonkatsu, one of our favorite weekly dinners (that also tastes good a day after). I tried making it again with Aleia’s gluten free bread crumbs but it just wasn’t the same.

However, one day at Sprout’s, I came across this…

p_62013360015

Kinnickinnick’s Panko Style Bread Crumbs

Kinnickinnick’s has had a pretty good track record for taste, so I really really really wanted to give it a shot. I took this home, flour’d some pork with Bob’s Red Mill 1-for-1 gluten free flour (not the beany one), used this panko, and BAM! It was PERFECT. Husband doesn’t usually care for my GF food, but this worked out perfectly.

All you’re doing is following the basic tonkatsu recipe, except exchanging out some core ingredients (here’s Just One Cookbook’s if you need pictures):

  1. Obtain pork chops and free from packaging, mix up egg(s) — mix up about one for every two or three chops
  2. Heat up oil
  3. Dust pork chops with gluten-free flour — make sure to cover entirely on both sides
  4. Dip pork chops in the egg mix
  5. Cover entirely with gluten-free panko
  6. FRY! Until it’s a good brown and crunchy color

That’s literally it. Top it off with Bulldog tonkatsu sauce and you’re all set to yummy. 🙂

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “How To: Gluten Free Tonkatsu

  1. Bernadett says:

    Is bulldog tonkatsu sauce gluten free, though? It has soy in it (if it refers to soy sauce, it could have gluten) and also some sources state the vinegar in it is malt vinegar (barley). However, the packaging only lists soy as an allergen

    Like

    • cynthia says:

      Valid question. It’s kind of in that category of “no gluten ingredients but unsure about facility or CC risk.” Bulldog Tonkatsu sauce is made of fruits, veg, vinegar, and spices, while the at home recipes definitely include soy sauce and other sauces of concern for gluten like oyster sauce.

      Here is the ingredients list exactly:

      Ingredients: WATER, HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, SUGAR DISTILLED VINEGAR (MADE FROM ALCOHOL), TOMATO PASTE, SALT, MODIFIED RICE STARCH, APPLE PUREE, YEAST EXTRACT (CONTAINS SOY), SPICES, PRUNE PASTE, CARROTS, ONIONS, LEMON JUICE.,

      I haven’t seen any packaging refer to malt vinegar, but it does say distilled vinegar from alcohol. It would still be gf but since it’s an unknown source we don’t have the whole story.

      I’ll throw up an FYI and link to a homemade sauce recipe when I can.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s